The Romance Paradox

I get asked all the time why I write Romance, and particularly why I write such dark Romance. Hmm… Interesting questions, both with interesting answers… 😉

To understand why I write the kind of Romance I do, you have to know what I believe in, and why.  It’s both an easy and complex thing.  Most importantly (to me, anyway) is that I do believe in true love. While I don’t believe it conquers all, and I don’t believe in “Happily Ever After”, I have a “Happy As Long as I Can Be” mentality about love, and I do try to end my work on a positive note, where I can.  I have a lot of faith in the power of love to create something bright and beautiful in even the darkest areas of life. Hence why I write fiction that’s both dark/dangerous and with that grain of light/love/hope.  I have a lot of troubling things in my past and present (none of which are fodder for discussion, here, sorry…), but I still believe in hope.  I think when we lose that, we lose a part of ourselves that can’t ever be fixed or retrieved.    I write Romance not for the starry-eyed romantic out there who believes that life is a dozen roses and a bottle of wine (not that there’s anything wrong with that… It would be nice if everyone’s life was that way).  Instead, I write Romance for the person down on the street, who’s seen everything life has to dish out.  I write Romance for the battered wife who knows, deep in her heart, that there has to be more to love than a fist.  I write Romance for the strung out junkie who gets high trying to escape pain that never seems to go away, and is far too jaded to ever believe in Prince Charming.  Why do I do this?  Because someone has to.  Someone has to take the blinders off, and see that love isn’t just for a pretty world, full of pretty people.  The people love matters the most to are the ones who have to fight, tooth and nail, for it.  It’s their hope, their salvation, their aspiration.  Sometimes, that hope is the only thing that gets them through the night.  How do I know?  Because I’ve been there.  I’ve hidden emotional bruises and battering behind laughter and a smile.  I’ve teetered on the precipice of oblivion, and known it would only take the slightest push to tip me over.  I’ve lain awake at night, awash with terrified sweat, knowing that the only thing that stood between the future and utter nothingness was that little glimmer of hope…

So yes, I’ll proudly stand up and say I write Romance… because Romance might actually make a difference in someone’s life.

Leave a Reply

